MISSISSIPPI ASSOCIATION OF SUPERVISORS

Weekly Legislative Update 2020 Regular Legislative Session January 10, 2020

THE 2020 REGULAR LEGISLATIVE SESSION

The 2020 Regular Legislative Session marks the beginning of a new term. This session will consist of a 125-day session outside of the 90 day session. The deadline for making request for general bills and constitutional amendments to be drafted is <u>Thursday</u>, <u>February 20</u>, 2020.

PROCEDURES AND RULES TO START THE NEW TERM

On Tuesday January 7th, The Mississippi Legislature convened at 12:00 noon. Governor-Elect, Tate Reeves presided over the Senate chamber while Lt. Governor-Elect, Delbert Hosemann presided over the House of Representatives until a temporary Speaker of the House was elected. Representative John Read was selected to fill the role as the temporary Speaker of the House, a motion was made and seconded to nominate Representative Philip Gunn as the official Speaker of the House. All nominations were closed, and Representative Philip Gunn was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives. This is Speaker Gunn's third term to serve as Speaker after being elected first in 2012 and again in 2016. The Senate voted unanimously to elect Senator Dean Kirby as the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Former Senator Buck Clarke was chosen as Secretary of the Senate. His job will mainly consist of keeping the journal of the Senate and scheduling committee meetings. The Senate established two new committees through the rules process. Those committees were the Technology Committee and Gaming Committee.

MISSISSIPPI STATEWIDE OFFICIALS

Statewide officials were sworn in on the floor of the Mississippi House of Representatives on Thursday, January 9, 2020. The ceremony took place during a Joint Legislative Session in which members of the Senate joined those in the House on the floor.

The swearing in included seven of the eight statewide officials. The only one left is Governor-Elect, Tate Reeves who will take office next Tuesday, January 14, 2020.

The members of statewide office include the following:

Attorney General, Lynn Fitch; Treasurer, David McRae; Secretary of State, Michael Watson; Insurance Commissioner, Mike Chaney; State Auditor, Shad White; Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, Andy Gipson; Lt. Governor, Delbert Hosemann.

MISSISSIPPI REVENUE COLLECTIONS ABOVE FY2020 ESTIMATES IN DECEMBER ACCORDING TO THE LEGISLATIVE BUDGET OFFICE

The Mississippi Legislative Budget Office reports revenue collection for the state is up \$166 million, or over 6%, above Fiscal Year 2020 estimates as of December 2019.

SENATE CHAMBER ANNOUNCES COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

On Friday January 10th, the Senate chamber announced its committee assignments/leadership for the next four years. Although all committees are important, the following committees often work on policy that has significant impact to county government: Finance – Chairman Sen. Josh Harkins; Appropriations – Chairman Sen. Briggs Hopson; County Affairs – Chairlady Sen. Angela Burks Hill; Accountability Efficiency & Transparency – Chairman Sen. John Polk; Highways & Transportation – Chairman Sen. Joey Fillingane

NOTE: The full list of Senate committees and committee members will be made accessible on the MAS website very soon.



The House and Senate will reconvene Monday, January 13 at 4:00 p.m.

SPECIAL THANKS!

The Mississippi Association of Supervisors would like to extend a special thanks to all the participants at this year's 2020 Mid -Winter Legislative Conference. We greatly appreciate the leadership, dedication and commitment to excellence in education by each member.

SAVE THE DATE

2020 Annual ConventionThe 2020 Annual Convention will be at the MS Coast Coliseum & Convention Center June 15—18, 2020.

Huber Days Pac-Mac Expo:

This event is scheduled January 29 -30, 2020 at the Mississippi Coast Coliseum and Convention Center in Gulfport, MS. For more information or to register please visit www.keithhuber.com

NACo Legislative Conference:

The 2020 NACo Legislative Conference will be a the Washington Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. February 29 - March 4. MAS Caucus reception is scheduled for Sunday, March 1 beginning at 5:00 pm at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

