Back to top

Don't forget to register for the 2018 Mid-Winter Legislative Conference, Jan. 8-10, 2018.  

We're moving to the Jackson Convention Center! 

Join us at this exciting new venue for a full schedule of speakers, all-new Vendor Meet & Greet sessions, visit at the State Capitol and more.  

The MAS Minority Caucus is now accepting scholarship applications for the 2018 MAS/MC Scholarship.  Click here for more information and scholarship form.  



The latest Agenda for the MAS Fall Workshop in Vicksburg is now available.  Please visit the Fall Workshop page for more information.  Hope to see everyone in Vicksburg next month!

Click here to see the latest Agenda.


To: MAS Membership
From:Executive Director, Derrick Surrette
Date: 7/7/2017
Re: U.S. House to Vote Next Week 

House to Vote Next Week - Bigger Trucks Back in Play


Pursuant to Mississippi Code Ann. 77-13-31, the Underground Facilities Damage Prevention Board has declared its intent to consider the adoption of rules under its authority. In addition, pursuant to Mississippi Code Ann. 77-13-29 (subsection (L)), a Mississippi Association of Supervisors (MAS) representative is appointed to the Underground Facilities Damage Prevention Board.

The Mississippi Association of Supervisor’s office was contacted by the Mississippi Forestry Commission to distribute the attached press release. Due to State budget cuts, there will be a reorganizing of the Mississippi Forestry Commission resulting in the consolidation of the current seven districts into four new regions. Numerous job positions will be eliminated once the reorganization process has been completed beginning July 1, 2017. We ask that you keep the Forestry Commission employees and their families in your thoughts and prayers.

Mississippi Bicentennial Celebration South
Friday, March 31 and Saturday, April 1
Centennial Plaza – Gulfport, Mississippi

On behalf of the South Mississippi Bicentennial Committee together with the Mississippi Development Authority, we invite you to make plans to join us for the Party of the Century!  This is a free ticketed event so please go online to print your tickets at

Severe weather struck several areas of Mississippi on Jan. 21, resulting in severe damages in multiple counties.  That same day, Gov. Bryant issued a State of Emergency and authorized the use of the National Guard.  On Jan. 25, President Trump declared Forrest, Lamar, Lauderdale and Perry Counties federal disaster areas.  The declaration includes individual assistance and the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.  

At the Mid-Winter Legislative Conference, the MAS Membership adopted a resolution in support of additional funding for transportation infrastructure.  Click here for the official resolution.